One New Director, Two Incumbent Directors Elected to Co-op

March 31, 2023

Stearns Electric Association hosted its 86th Annual Meeting on Thursday, March 30, 2023, at the Melrose Area High School Auditorium. Scott Dirkes of Osakis was elected to the Cooperative’s Board of Directors in District 7 to serve a three-year term.

Two incumbents, Greg Blaine of Little Falls and Eric Peterson of Grey Eagle, were also re-elected in District 1 and District 8 respectively and will each serve a three-year term.

The results were as follows:

DISTRICT 1 – serving Minnesota townships: Scandia-Valley, Cushing, Clough, Parker, Darling, Green Prairie, Culdrum, Pike Creek, Swanville, Swan River, Elmdale and Two Rivers in Morrison County.

  • Greg Blaine (incumbent)219
  • Write-In – 7

 DISTRICT 7Serving Minnesota townships: Turtle Creek, Little Elk, Leslie, Reynolds, Long Prairie, Bruce, Gordon, Little Sauk, Round Prairie, Burnhamville, West Union and Grey Eagle in Todd County; and Orange in Douglas County.

  • Scott Dirkes – 158
  • Lawrence “Lonnie” Iverson” (incumbent)135
  • Write-In – 0

DISTRICT 8Serving Minnesota townships: Kandota and Birchdale in Todd County; Westport in Pope County; Ashley, Sauk Centre and Melrose in Stearns County.

  • Eric Peterson (incumbent)207
  • Write-In – 1

Total voter turnout for this year’s election was 12.95%. Members in voting districts could vote one of three ways: online, by mail or in person.
Following the meeting, the Stearns Electric Board of Directors held an organizational meeting. The following directors have been elected to serve as the Board officers:

  • President – Eric Peterson, District 8
  • Vice President – Randy Rothstein, District 4
  • Secretary/Treasurer – Michael Cramer, District 3

Despite the freezing rain, over 180 members and attended the 86th Annual Meeting of Stearns Electric Association. Members present received a one-pound block of cheese and one pound of butter as a gift from the Cooperative. Additionally, all members present at the meeting were also entered to win one of 10 door prizes, each valued at $100.

Stearns Electric also live streamed the meeting from its Facebook page, A recorded video of the meeting is available there.

The Stearns Electric Annual Meeting is an opportunity for Cooperative members to meet with Stearns Electric’s Board of Directors and employees, hear reports of past progress and future plans from the Cooperative’s executive team, and vote for open Board of Director positions.

Please visit the Annual Meeting page for complete details on the 86th Annual Meeting.